10 of WandsToday’s card is the 3 of staves from the Ancestral Path Tarot by Julie Cuccia-Watts. The image shows the pharoah and his queen preparing for a voyage or expedition. A servant carries a chest of valuables, while a splendid ship waits near the dock.

The 3 of staves is a card of setting things into motion, of launching something. It carries feelings of excitement, anticipation, and expectations of future success. The energy can also be unsettling, as it represents an irreversible commitment to change: taking the plunge into something new.

For many years, I always had trouble initiating something new – approaching someone I thought was attractive, applying for a job, deciding to move, travelling . . . I would be fine after having taken the initial step, once things were rolling along, but breaking out of a familiar habit and making that first move was terribly hard.

The 3 of staves (or three of wands in some decks) has helped me overcome my trepidations with such things. This is, after all, just a step in the process, one that can’t be bypassed, and is not really as scary as it might seem. It’s the threshold between planning and accomplishment, between imagination and action. I don’t have much fire energy in my makeup, so I don’t leap in naturally like some people do, but seeing it as a natural step, a part of the big picture of things, gives me enough perspective to deal with the anxiety and just get on with things.

When the 3 of staves comes up, it implies that you are embarking on a new initiative, promising enough to put your personal energy into, but with results still far off. Instead of just imagining possible futures, we set out upon a road that leads to one.

